Putting on the full armor


As Christians we are called to put on the full armor. Sometimes I just put on my bathrobe and wonder why I am getting attacked.

Are you putting on the full armor or getting lazy?

Full confession: I get lazy. I don’t always put on the full armor and this morning I realized just how important it is to keep a regular routine of morning prayer no- matter what- and put on my armor.

The enemy loves to attack and will find any opening or chink in the armor. It’s really not about “doing” but talking to God and letting Jesus fill you with His peace that surpasses all understanding before you start your day.

When I do this, I know I’m covered. I put everything in His hands when I awake. I talk to Him about my concerns, ask Him for encouragement and to send people into my life that day that I can help or that can help me. I ask Him to bless every conversation. I pray for protection and blessing on my family and friends.  I also thank Him for what He is doing and will do. And I give Him all my cares.

1 Peter 5:7

Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

(end of scripture)

I love that verse. Don’t you? He wants us to unload on Him, not our spouse or our neighbor or the guy in front of you on the freeway that just cut you off. When we cast all our cares and anxiety on Him, He really takes it and makes good with it. He takes our worries and gives us peace that surpasses all understanding. Wow! What a trade off! Why would I blow it off out of laziness when I’m the one missing out?

The enemy. The enemy is the great distractor. There is always something more important than prayer: the phone call I need to make, the errand to run, the dishes and laundry waiting. Let it all wait. Nothing is more important then going in your room, closing your door and getting your batteries recharged and renewed by our perfect Lord. He really does do this for us and He patiently waits for us so that He can fill us. All we need to do is ask. What a wonderful, loving Savior we have in Christ Jesus. So today, when you want to put on your comfy robe, throw it aside and put on your full armor instead.

Ephesians 6

The Armor of God

10Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. 18And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints.

Written by Sue

11 Responses

  1. Do you notice, just in everyday life…when you stay in your jammies you don’t get much done? But if you actually get dressed you’re less apt to sit around and be lazy? You seem to be more productive and tend to things that need to get done? I sure do. Sure, I can get my house cleaned in my pj’s…but do I? Nah, need to change into sweats for that. Not that it’s that big of a change, from pj’s to sweats, but something happens in my mindset. Speaking of which…I should probably get dressed! Ha!

  2. sooo true!!

  3. And it’s the same spiritually, isn’t it? If get up and jump to the computer or turn on the tv or whatever and don’t put the armor on, I’m done for the day. Spiritually lazy.

    • Yes…definitely the same spiritually. Sometimes I think I just need to throw out the TV and computer and get back to reading real books.

      I’m in sweats now…but gotta change into street clothes so I can go bowl with mom and sis. Mom loves to bowl.

  4. Thank you for sharing this!

    When I wake up and grab my day on my own strength (like this morning), I later wonder why I feel so anxious, so afraid, so alone, so lost, so troubled. I need Jesus from the 1st moment I open my eyes in the morning.

    I love this verse: “cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you”. What more do I need? Lord Jesus, I am yours. Take it all!

    Have a great day in the Lord!

  5. Love you Kay. you and me both. Can’t do it on my own.

  6. What a great write! I’m pasting this in an email draft so I can read it until I become this way. Wonderful timing for me. Thank you so much.

    -David

  7. David,
    You made my day. May the Lord bless you!
    Sue

  8. Well, I just found your blog some time in January. Linked from SQ, I think; and your knowledge of all of this so blows my mind. I am so impressed, and i love your work.

    It is all so inspiring. Thanks, and may the lord bless you as well. Prayers for you.

    -David

  9. David.

    You are too kind and so very wrong about me having knowledge about stuff. I really don’t. But thanks for your kind words and for reading my blog!!
    Blessings,
    Sue

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

